top of page

In Plain Sight

Hello again!


If you're reading this, thanks for stopping by. Before I get started, I just want to say that I'm going to be taking a break from my blog. It hurts me to say this but these past few weeks have not been the best for me emotionally and I think I need to take a break from social media and human interactions for a bit. I can't say exactly when I'll be back but I'll come back way better than I am now to keep producing content from a good place in my mind.


I'm grateful for every one of you <3


Today I want to share something that has really helped me over the last couple weeks - from tracking my feelings, to stacking my day full of good actions, to recognizing my thinking traps, I have learned that I am more than my feelings and I can change them.


My next goal is to create a healthier outlook for whatever issues might arise, so I'm going to be sharing why I think thoughts are so hard to see.


Thoughts are not facts.

Thoughts are not facts.

Thoughts are not facts.

It's pretty important that I said it three times, just in case you were skimming...! Roger that?


Thoughts can pop up in our heads, and just as quickly as they come, we can let them go. Because they're not facts! Even more importantly, we can track where they come from, note why they come, and choose to take a new view - no matter what they are.



That's the power you have, right now.


It's so rare in life that we have the perspective to see things clearly. Even when we think we understand things, a little more information can give us a whole new view.


Reframing means putting a new, more helpful interpretation of a situation. For example, you might take a failure and be able to see it as a learning experience.


When you're feeling out of sorts for any reason, slow down, and start by taking note of exactly what happened. What recent events or interactions took place? What facts do you have about the context of the feeling? The next step is to note your feelings. Try to describe your emotions in detail. Finally, take a look at your thoughts. Is there a better way to evaluate what happened? If it's hard to do this, maybe imagine a friend describing it. Hear their voice instead of your own.



Using these steps helps me see things in a new light. When I reframe this way, I'm able to shift my view from things that aren't helping, to the things that truly make me feel better. It's a clearer, brighter view.


As our minds are constantly spinning with thoughts, feelings, and distractions throughout the day, it is important that we have a way to hit the pause button on our own minds and get a little space to reframe things. For example, let's say you're feeling fine, walking down the street, and some guy rudely bumps into you. It hurts! He didn't even say, "sorry!" Maybe he even did it intentionally. So now you're feeling angry. You could either decide to yell at him or chase after him. But do you really want that to be your reaction?


The problem is that most of the time, we don't slow down at the moment, and allow ourselves to process the feeling before we respond. We just act out of impulse.


When we take time to note our feelings, we're able to recognize how the situation really caused our anger. Maybe while you were walking, you were looking down on your phone, thus the guy bumped into you. Maybe it was just an accident, and he wasn't trying to hurt you.



Being able to control your mood is probably the best thing ever and trust me, it would save you from making bad decisions you'd hate in the future. That's the beauty of stopping our thoughts to examine the situation before reacting. This gives you the space you need to process whatever comes up.


Again, thank you for being with me here all this while.



I love you,

Qween.


69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page