top of page

Back to school... College tips and essentials

If you're anything like me you're probably preparing to go back to school or you maybe already have. So today I'm gonna be sharing some college tips and essentials that I believe every college or soon-to-be college student should know. I've gotten one year of the college experience so I think I have some interesting things to talk about and hopefully some things that would make this year a little less stressful for you.


Let's get right into it, shall we?


The first thing I have to start off with is a Planner or any form of Organizer. I honestly can't stress this enough. I have a journal and also utilize my Outlook Calendar. In this journal, you're basically planning your month at a glance, weekly activities, and the likes. It's very critical that you're keeping tabs of due dates, class schedules, tests/exam dates, etc. I also find that keeping a journal helps to schedule in your "me time" because as students there is the tendency to not pay enough attention to ourselves and our individual needs. Whether it's working out, spending time on your hobby, socializing, taking a bubble bath, or anything else that's not school-related. If you make everything about school then your anxiety and stress levels are definitely gonna rise. So make out time in your planner for you.



There are a lot of small essentials that college students need. Whether it be pens or pencils, backpacks, water bottles, and all of those things. I think it's worth reiterating the need to find a backpack that works for you. When shopping for backpacks, I always like to pay attention to finding neutral colors and styles that I won't get sick of, ensuring that they're made of good material that's going to last, and finally there has to be plenty of room on the inside to fit in all of my stuff. So finding the right balance between cute and functional is very critical. Also, before buying a backpack, especially if you're going on the pricier side, make sure to check reviews.


Check out backpacks: Click me



Next. Headphones. Whether they're wired or wireless I think they're a very essential thing to have. As a student on campus, there's a lot of time you could buy by listening to a podcast, an audiobook, or even just music. During my freshman year, I would usually record my lectures and play them over again in the evening while I'm working out at the gym, and it really helped my retention, to say the least. Also, if you're anything like me, then you need music to read. I literally can't read without music and I also can't blast music in public spaces, like the library, that's another way my headphones come in handy.


A printer.


If you don't already have a reliable printer at home, in your campus dorm, or apartment, then I would highly recommend you get one. I use the HP Deskjet Mini Laser Printer. It was pretty expensive but definitely worth it. I have it steady in my room because I get a lot of assignments that require printing. Not only is it very convenient, but it's also reliable to know that you can use it to get the job done anytime, from the comfort of your dorm room. Just so you know, printing on most campuses is not free.


One important piece of advice. Having your Student ID with you everywhere might seem like a very obvious thing to do cause it's a form of identification. But your ID in fact does more than that. In my school, for instance, you need your student ID to access certain buildings and facilities. You use your ID to pay for food at the cafeteria and to attend certain events on campus. But there is also a beautiful world of student discounts you're able to access with your ID. By showing my Student ID, I'm able to save money at local stores nearby, save money on groceries and subscription services. I got discounts on my laptop and there are many more ways to save up money when you have your card in hand.



Wrapping up... One of the most valuable features on your phone is your camera. It's easy to forget that the time you spend at college is gonna fly by because you're so focused on it. I encourage you to document the process. Take photos of your friends, take photos of your campus, take videos of special moments, etc. You're gonna thank me later when you're able to look back on these moments in the future.



Finally, I would like to stress the fact that there were a lot of things I couldn't cover in this post because I didn't want it to be long af. I advise you to look online for more information. If you have any questions you can leave them in the comments or get in touch with me privately.


Closing tip: Get you a customizable app for your shopping list.



College has it's ups and downs but I feel like these are some of the things that helped me navigate my first year. Give this post a like if you enjoyed it, subscribe if you haven't already, and let me know in the comments what your number one advice for other college students is.


I will see you next week with a new post...


I love you,

Bye :)


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page